Posted in anthropology, Humans Being

Humans Being – Jasmine

Jasmine – 5/7/16 
Today Jasmine and I had a chance to sit down and chat at a coffee shop in Gosford 

We chatted about plans for this blog and I asked her advice, sharing my ideas of wanting a regular blog post about different people

We discussed possible questions I could ask these people and I thought i would test out my first go on her ☺️ 
I asked ‘what do you find yourself spending most of your time doing?’ 

Through discussing and sharing with each other she came to the conclusion that she plans her life bit by bit.

‘Planning life, what next and what to organize’ 

Then recognized that this causes not being present, not being aware, making it harder to have inner peace. Not until you stop, clear your head and either meditate or relax that you can find a inner peace and happiness. 
We also discussed the question ‘ what do you believe in?’ And ‘what is your one truth? Your ontological security?’ 

I believe in humanity, and the evolution that is what brought us here

The social constructions and meanings behind things, studied through sociology and anthropology.

The evolution of meanings and humans is something I know is true. 

Jasmine described her ontological security as – ‘nothing is certain’ 

Certainty in the uncertainty

This idea describes the ‘risk society’ we are in now, pinned by Foucault, a French philosopher.  
Jasmine describes herself as an introvert, someone who thinks things through and analyses reasoning behind everything 
‘What is something that makes you different?’ 

Tomato sauce on a wide range of food, mainly hot food though

I’m not unique, it’s merely my combination of circumstances, time and experiences that makes me truly unique 

What is something unexpected about you? 

3rd Dan in Shotokan Karate 

Karate instructor – 11 years of karate 

Teacher and leader! 

Author:

This blog aims to capture things in my life that I love and have a passion for. These include my travels and travel plans, fabulous reads, general life observations and my continuing insight into anthropological studies.

Leave a Reply

