Posted in anthropology, Humans Being, Travel

Humans Being – Danny

Danny – 11/9/16

Danny is a bubbly, funny guy I met travelling in Laos. He’s from Washington, U.S.A 

  • Describe yourself in 7 words for someone who doesn’t know you at all 

Goofy, empathetic, curious, fun, open, honest, loving

  • What is the most interesting travel experience you have had? 

I have had a couple interesting things happen. 

I went to the north of Portugal a few years ago to my friends dad’s home town to participate in their “festa” and was able to help carry a statue of St. Anthony through the town.

When i was in Lima Peru a kid stuck cocaine in my mouth.

  • What inspires you?

 Knowing that the world can be a better place is what inspires me.

  • What do you believe in?

 I believe in good people. 

I’m going to speak about the USA because it’s all I’ve ever known. For me, I am of the belief that the world is getting better, we are starting to see differences in each other and appreciate them instead of them being divisive (just look at gay marriage being legal, more awareness about sexuality and being Trans, protected rights for those groups) we still have a long ways to go (especially in race relations) but all in all these problems are being called out and beginning to be addressed. Yes it’s a long road ahead but it’s one that is being fought for. I want to be apart of that fight and I’m a firm believer that we are starting to right the wrongs that have come before us.

When you get to witness humanity, I don’t think there is anything greater. My facebook feed has been filled with 9/11 posts for obvious reasons but one quote from John Stewart hits home for me “The reason I don’t worry about society is, nineteen people knocked down two buildings and killed thousands. Hundreds of people ran into those buildings to save them. I’ll take those odds every fucking day”. 

Humanity is alive and well and that’s why I believe in good people.

  • What is something that makes you unique?

I don’t think the fact that I wear glasses is very unique so let’s go with my dance moves. I don’t think my dance moves need any further explanation haha. 


Author:

This blog aims to capture things in my life that I love and have a passion for. These include my travels and travel plans, fabulous reads, general life observations and my continuing insight into anthropological studies.

Leave a Reply

