Posted in anthropology, Humans Being, Travel

Humans Being – Janis

Janis (pronounced yanis) is an amazing person who is really down to earth, open minded and a great laugh. We met while doing the Thakek Loop in Laos and traveled together for over a week. He is from Germany. 

  • Describe yourself in 7 words for someone who doesn’t know you at all

German, student, interested, open minded, sporty, calm 

  • Coolest place you have travelled? 

A great camping spot in New Zealand where there was a river and a waterfall , it was really beautiful there. Plus what made it a great memory is that we found a German bakery before going there and bought German bread to toast over the fire and put butter and salt on it.

  • What makes you different/ unique? 

I think what makes me me, is I have a general interest in all subjects, I study science but I have done courses in astronomy, art history, education, physics, Chinese studies, theory of science and rhetoric (science of speech) and had an interest in all of these subjects. 

I did a year of general studies doing all different things and every Thursday we had a different person talk about their specific subject, to see if we liked it. It was a group of 53 people and we lived together for the year in a massive house, it was such a great year, the best year of my life, so far.

  • What is your first memory/ positive memory from childhood? 

Not my first memory but a positive one that popped into my mind is when I was 11, it was on my mums birthday, all the neighbors kids were around our house and we picked cherries off our cherry tree together and sat alongside the bike path near our house, it was a lovely sunny day so a lot of people were out so we sold lots of cherries. Every time the bus driver came around he would buy a kilo 

This is a positive memory because it was all us kids together, and was really fun 

  • What is a passion you have and how do you embrace it? 

I don’t have a passion, but I love surfing, circus stuff, cooking, science, reading, swimming, carving wood and schnitzel.

I am passionate about research, the mind and learning/education, but sometimes I want to teach, be more hands on.

  • What is an interesting travel story that makes you laugh?

When I was traveling in South America, me and 3 friends bought a chicken from the market and took it back to our hostel to cook . 

There was a girl in our hostel who was vegetarian, who was upset about us slaughtering a chicken in this hostel which was funny, because the owner of the hostel was encouraging us, saying we could bury the bones in the back garden, which was funny also 

My friend swung the chicken by its neck to brake it, then we killed it and I was the one who plucked it. We wanted to make it like how we make it at home so we put vegetables around it and put it in the oven for an hour and a half. 

While we were here we smoked lots of cigars because this place has 3 of the 10 best cigars in the world, and they had ones for free that had errors so we had lots of cigars 

The chicken was not cooked after the hour and a half, because it was a really old chicken. Then I remembered my mums rule of cooking chicken is the amount of years old it is, is the amount of hours to cook it and add an hour so we put it in again for 5 hours then it was perfect and really yummy, just what we needed after smoking so many cigars.

  • How has travel affected you? 

I can sleep anywhere, in any bed or situation 

More patient

Learnt to be more positive about shit things that happen 

Try to think positive 

I travelled with my best friend for 7 months and he is less critical than I, he says yes to everything. Whereas I think about it more and am critical so after traveling with him I learnt to just say yes more often and be more positive by being less critical. Being critical can be good but can be bad while traveling I think. 

Author:

This blog aims to capture things in my life that I love and have a passion for. These include my travels and travel plans, fabulous reads, general life observations and my continuing insight into anthropological studies.

Leave a Reply

